## IN SUPREME COURT

CX-84-1651

# IN RE APPOINTMENTS TO THE BOARD OF LEGAL CERTIFICATION

#### ORDER

Pursuant to the plan and rules adopted by this Court for the State Board of Legal Certification,

## IT IS ORDERED.

- Timothy J. Gephart (public member), Reid R. Lindquist (lawyer member), and Julie A. Bergh (MSBA-nominated lawyer) are hereby appointed to the Board of Legal Certification for three-year terms commencing on January 1, 2006.
- 2. Brett Olander is hereby reappointed chair of the Board of Legal Certification for a one-year term commencing on January 1, 2006.

Dated: November <u>/5</u>, 2005

BY THE COURT.

to the

Kathleen A. Blatz Chief Justice

OFFICE OF APPELLATE COURTS NOV 1 5 2005

#### IN SUPREME COURT

CX-84-1651

# IN RE APPOINTMENTS TO THE BOARD OF LEGAL CERTIFICATION

## ORDER

Pursuant to the plan and rules adopted by this Court for the State Board of Legal Certification,

IT IS ORDERED that Thomas Vasaly and Nancy McLean are hereby reappointed as lawyer members to the Board of Legal Certification for three-year terms commencing on January 1, 2006.

Dated: December /2, 2005

BY THE COURT:

Vame A. Bug

Kathleen A. Blatz Chief Justice

OFFICE OF APPELLATE COURTS DEC 1 2 2005 FILED



#### IN SUPREME COURT

CX -84-1651

# ORDER APPOINTING MEMBERS TO SUPREME COURT TASK FORCE ON LEGAL CERTIFICATION REVIEW

WHEREAS, the Supreme Court in 1985 established a Board of Legal Certification and adopted rules for certifying legal specialties;

WHEREAS, the Supreme Court requested the Board of Legal Certification to conduct a self evaluation, which the Court received in October 2005.

WHEREAS, the Supreme Court desires to be more fully informed about specialist certification policy options in the following areas:

- A. The continuing value to the public of specialty certification;
- B. The continuing professional demand for certification based on the number of certified legal specialists and certifying agencies;
- C. The appropriateness of board initiated expansion of areas of certification and the methods of accomplishing expansion, if necessary;
- D. Consideration of effectiveness of the Minnesota model of certification in comparison to models ranging from direct certification to delegation to some other body used in other states.

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED that the following persons be, and hereby are, appointed as members of the Supreme Court Task Force on Legal Certification Review to provide an independent evaluation, building on the Report of the Board of Legal Certification, in each of the areas identified above and make policy recommendations to the Supreme Court: Lewis A. Remele, Jr., Chair 33 South Sixth Street, #3800 Minneapolis, MN 55402-3707 612-333-3000

Hon. Robert Awsumb 1650 Ramsey County Courthouse 15 West Kellogg Boulevard St. Paul, MN 55102 651-266-8193

Barbara Jean D'Aquila 333 South Seventh Street, #2900 Minneapolis, MN 55402-2440 623-333-9500

Neil W. Hamilton 1000 LaSalle Avenue, #MSL 441 Minneapolis, MN 55403-2005 651-962-4866

Robert J. King, Jr. 80 South Eighth Street, #2000 Minneapolis, MN 55402 612-339-8131

Elizabeth D. Moran 5901 Lincoln Drive Edina, MN 55436 952-992-4847 Martin A. Cole 345 St. Peter Street, #1500 St. Paul, MN 55102-1218 651-296-3952

Candace L. Dale 80 South Eighth Street, #5120 Minneapolis, MN 55402-2246 612-377-7777

Terry A. Karkela 450 West Main Street P.O. Box 160 Perham, MN 56573 218-346-4995

John M. Koneck 200 South Sixth Street, #400 Minneapolis, MN 55402-1425 612-492-7000

Marshall H. Tanick 220 South Sixth Street, #1700 Minneapolis, MN 55402 612-339-4295

#### IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that

- 1. Lewis Remele be, and hereby is, appointed chair of the Task Force;
- 2. The Honorable Sam Hanson, Associate Justice of the Minnesota Supreme Court be, and hereby is appointed to the Task Force as liaison to the Supreme Court;
- 3. Judith L. Rehak be, and hereby is, appointed as staff to the Task Force;

4. The Task Force submit its recommendations to this Court on or before July 1,2006.

DATED: December 21, 2005

BY THE COURT:

Kathleen A. Blatz Chief Int

Chief Justice

OFFICE OF APPELLATE COURTS DEC 2 9 2005 FILED

## IN SUPREME COURT

CX-84-1651

## AMENDED ORDER APPOINTING MEMBERS TO SUPREME COURT TASK FORCE ON LEGAL CERTIFICATION REVIEW

WHEREAS, the Supreme Court, in 1985, established a Board of Legal Certification and adopted rules for certifying legal specialties;

WHEREAS, the Supreme Court requested the Board of Legal Certification to conduct a self evaluation, which the Court received in October 2005;

WHEREAS, the Supreme Court desires to be more fully informed about specialist certification policy options in the following areas:

- A. The continuing value to the public of specialty certification;
- B. The continuing professional demand for certification based on the number of certified legal specialists and certifying agencies;
- C. The appropriateness of board initiated expansion of areas of certification and the methods of accomplishing expansion, if necessary;
- D. Consideration of effectiveness of the Minnesota model of certification in comparison to models ranging from direct certification to delegation to some other body used in other states.

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED that the following persons be, and hereby are, appointed as members of the Supreme Court Task Force on Legal Certification Review to provide an independent evaluation, building on the Report of the Board of Legal Certification, in each of the areas identified above and make policy recommendations to the Supreme Court:

Lewis A. Remele, Jr., Chair 33 South Sixth Street, #3800 Minneapolis, MN 55402-3707 612-333-3000

Hon. Robert A. Awsumb 1650 Ramsey County Courthouse 15 West Kellogg Boulevard St. Paul, MN 55102 651-266-8193

Stephanie Ball 700 Lonsdale Building Duluth, MN 55802 218-722-0861

Martin A. Cole 345 St. Peter Street, #1500 St. Paul, MN 55102-1218 651-296-3952

Barbara Jean D'Aquila 333 South Seventh Street, #2900 Minneapolis, MN 55402-2440 623-333-9500

Candace L. Dale 80 South Eighth Street, #5120 Minneapolis, MN 55402-2246 612-377-7777 Terry A. Karkela 450 West Main Street P.O. Box 160 Perham, MN 56573 218-346-4995

Robert J. King, Jr. 80 South Eighth Street, #2000 Minneapolis, MN 55402 612-339-8131

John M. Koneck 200 South Sixth Street, #400 Minneapolis, MN 55402-1425 612-492-7000

Elizabeth D. Moran 5901 Lincoln Drive Edina, MN 55436 952-992-4847

Caren Schurhammer 315 N. Central Avenue Faribault, MN 55021-5214 507-332-0770

Marshall H. Tanick 220 South Sixth Street, #1700 Minneapolis, MN 55402 612-339-4295

#### IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that

- 1. Lewis Remele be, and hereby is, appointed chair of the Task Force;
- 2. The Honorable Sam Hanson, Associate Justice of the Minnesota Supreme Court be, and hereby is, appointed to the Task Force as liaison to the Supreme Court;
- 3. Judith L. Rehak be, and hereby is, appointed as staff to the Task Force;

4. The Task Force submit its recommendations to this Court on or before July 1, 2006.

Dated: December 29, 2005

BY THE COURT:

Kathleen A. Blatz

Chief Justice